Book review [7/10]: Found: God’s Peace

“Some people assume worry is the result of too much thinking. Actually, it’s the result of too little thinking in the right direction. If you know who God is and understand His purposes, promises, and plans, it will help you not to worry.”

-John Macarthur

416W3lUSGgL._SY346_

It is of great sadness to learn that we, as Christians, forget that worrying is sin. This sin, which we often justify to feel, is what will be the end of our Christian joy. I got the book from OMFlit bookstore and I bought it because I heard it introduced all the time from Grace To You (sermons) application where I mostly listen to sermons for inductive Bible studies. In fact: because of the repetitiveness of that introduction in every sermon I hear from that app, I have memorized it and I sometimes even rehearse it (with the same speed and tone) every time I hear it. In case you want to see the transcript:

The following sermon is by John Macarthur, Pastor, Author, and the Bible teacher with grace to you. If you haven’t contacted grace to you we want to send you a free booklet by John called “Found: God’s Peace”. Its all about helping you defeat anxiety and know true and lasting contentment. Request your free booklet by writing to peace@gty.org. That’s p e a c e at g t y dot org. Offered good in North America and Europe through June of 2017. And now unleashing God’s truth one verse at a time, here’s Grace to You Bible teacher, John Macarthur.

Or if you want to hear it personally. Visit www.gty.org and listen to any sermon you can find there. Though the book is quite small (you can read it for a day) it will be dealing a lot with the heart by the use of God’s Word. The book in a sense tells us the reasons why Christians are not called for the worried life.

Rating: 7/10

I must say that the reason why I rated this book seven is because I felt as if there is something missing in this book that John Macarthur intentionally didn’t write for an unknown reason. If I am to guess what it is, it might be because he wants the reader to go for another one of his books called “Anxious For Nothing” to which he says it “goes deeper”. I expected the book to provide more details of Scriptures about how Christians can experience true peace, not exactly how to avoid being worried. Other than that, this book has helped me enhanced my prayer and thought life. One of my most favorite parts with how Macarthur explains (as always with his other books) is he gives a difference between the worldly experience and the godly experience. He makes it clear and always tells us that Christianity is indeed set apart. The peace we can experience is not the external acts we do (e.g. travel), it is Christ Himself, the Prince of Peace who decided to live in us. If I am given the time to read “Anxious for Nothing” I might just change and redo this review.

Will I recommend it?

Overall: John’s consistency with how he writes his books and his faithfulness to the Word of God is evident and though I have marked this as seven out of ten, I’d still recommend it. But I’ll also probably recommend that the reader will also read John’s “Anxious for nothing” before reviewing this.

Leave a Reply

